“Hey baby, what’s your name?”- Why ask me my goals?


I have become a job whore. I feel so yanked around I don’t even know what I want anymore. “What’s your name, baby?” the man asks the streetwalker. “What do you want it to be?” she asks. This is a transaction. It’s not personal; it’s business. She will be whoever she needs to be. Walking into a job interview, I think, “I’ll be whoever you want me to be.”

“What are your goals?” my they ask me. I don’t know how to answer that question. My true answer is much the same as the street walker’s and in much the same spirit. My skills and interests are tailored and stated for the satisfaction of my potential employer. What does it matter, who I am or what I want? I am looking for a job and I have already accepted this as an acceptable occupation or else I wouldn’t be here. Just play along and I will be whoever you want me to be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

